• Student Welfare

    Student life is an integral part of University education as it offers students unique opportunities for personal growth, as well as for the development of leadership and communication skills.

A Paradigm Shift in MMUST Students’ Elections; A Beacon for Emulation for National Elections

39 first parliamentarians at MMUST, duly elected under a new Constitution following the amended Universities Act (2016) that led to the election of representatives from various Schools and sections, democratically chose members of the new Students’ Governing Council (SGC) on Friday 12th May, 2017 at the Main Catering Unit (MCU).

The transparent, peaceful and hotly contested process is in line with the Ministry of Education’s Guidelines on the Safety of education facilities during elections and were conducted under the watchful eye of IEBC Returning Officer, Lurambi Constituency Mr. Isaiah Nabwayo. The elections provided MMUST with a new set of student leaders where the losers conceded defeat and promised to work together with the winners for the good of the University of Choice.

Okeja Brian and his running mate, Bernadette Ogega who is also the reigning Miss MMUST were elected as chairperson and Vice chairperson respectively. Okeja garnered 23 votes beating his close rival Moses Koskei who gathered 14 votes.

The newly elected Secretary General Omare Juma Zachary secured 24 voted against his close competitor Dennis Munyolo who gathered 13 votes. Michael Juma Omondi was elected the Treasurer with 19 votes against his two opponents Ochieng Simon Ndinya who collected 16 votes and Gathius Mocus Mocline who trailed with 2 votes. Clifton Kisera was elected unopposed as the Academic Secretary.

Aloo Yvon won the Special Interests Secretary’s seat with a huge margin of 28 votes against Nancy Mukonzo who trailed with 9 votes. In a massive upset of the elections, Mathew Wambua trounced Jacob Ogati Biyogo by scooping 36 votes against his opponent who managed to get one vote.

The IEBC official Mr. Nabwayo thanked the students and the entire University for exhibiting mature democracy during the elections. He further observed that the success of this system of election would impact to the future elections process in Kenya. He welcomed the new leaders to the world of politics and urged them to be good ambassadors.

“A new MMUST is born. Let’s work together as leaders to deliver the best,” Okeja Brian said during his acceptance speech as the elected SGC Chairperson.

Opening Hours

Our office is open from 
9.00am to 5.00pm,
Monday to Friday.

Appointments can be made outside of these hours in special circumstances.

Quick Links

You are here: