Department of Medical Biochemistry

Dr. Anthony  Sifuna Wawire
Chair of DepartmentDr. Anthony Sifuna Wawire

Department of Medical Biochemistry


The Department of Medical Biochemistry is made up of talented researchers, students and support staff who share a common passion and purpose to advance human life. Our research areas include molecular mechanisms of diseases (HIV, rheumatoid arthritis and metabolic disorders), molecular microbiology and bioinformatics. Scientists in the department are driven by curiosity and commitment to excellence in biomedical advances.    

As part of the school of Medicine at MMUST, we are dedicated to teaching preclinical classes but also support teaching of biochemistry in other schools within the university. Our desire is not just to inspire our students but also to create the next generation of thinkers. 

As genuine partners with the community, our research activities are geared towards addressing community problems and aspirations. 


Dr. Anthony Sifuna - Chairman / Lecturer

Dr Ezra Kombo Osoro - Lecturer

Mr Geoffrey Ouma Maloba - Assistant Lecturer

Mr James Mbithi Mulinge - Senior Principal Technologist

Ms Saraphine Nekesa Nebere - Adjuct Tutorial Fellow

Mr Tobias Ambundo - Part-Time Tutorial Fellow

Mr Chrispinus Odhiambo Opanyi - Adjuct Laboratory Technologist

Mr Noah Wamukoya- Adjuct Laboratory Technologist


Connect with us

The School of Medicine

Masinde Muliro University of Science & Technology,

P.O. Box, 190-50100, Kakamega, Kenya

  • dummy