News and Events

Keep up to date with the latest news and events from MMUST


Mr. James Sakwa, is also the National Executive Chairman Emeritus of the Association of Kenya Medical Laboratory Scientific Officers (AKMLSO), which is affiliated to the Federation of East African Associations of Medical Laboratory Scientists (FEAMLS) based in Arusha Tanzania where ECSA-HC is domiciled. FEAMLS is a regional organ basedat the University of Yaounde1 in Yaoundé-Cameroon,where he is serving as the first Vice President representing East Africa. The veteran lab technologist is also a former member of the board of directors of the International Federation of Biomedical Scientists (IFBLS) whose headquarters is in Hamilton, Canada.

According to Mr. Sakwa, his new position will open new opportunities for collaborations between MMUST and the ECSA-HC. Through collaborations among professional bodies and beyond, the ECSA-HC hasestablished seven (7) constituent colleges, with the proposed College as the umbrella institution. Theestablishment of the College of Medical Laboratory Scientists, aims at promoting excellence in specialistservices including training, service provision, and research within the ECSA region.

The forthcoming interactions between MMUST and professionals across the region will boost teaching,research and outreach in Medical Laboratory Science. Masinde Muliro University of Science andTechnology currently offers a Bachelor of Science in Medical Laboratory Science in the School of PublicHealth, Biomedical Sciences and Technology.

The East, Central and Southern Africa Health Community is an inter-governmental health organizationcomprising of nine member states namely Kenya, Malawi, Lesotho, Mauritius, Swaziland, Uganda,Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe.


Lydia Anyonje [This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Connect with us

P. O. BOX 190-50100, Kakamega

  • dummy+254 (0) 57 2505222/3,

  • dummy 


Report Corruption